FIBA World Cup Qualifiers: D’Tigers Challenge Undefeated Cote D’Ivoire, Others


In another FIBA world cup qualifier, another D’tigers team will be on parade for Nigeria.

This time It’s a mix of different teams, including the NBA stars from the Olympics, The Rwanda windows.

The D’tigers have their work cut out in the fourth window of the FIBA world cup qualifiers.

FIBA World Cup Qualifiers: DTigers-in-action

D’tigers Ins, Outs And Contenders

Head Coach Mike Brown will not be in Abidjan due to club commitments as Mfon Udofia will replace him for this window.

Milwaukee Bucks player Jordan Nwora will be out of the team due to contract negotiations with his club.

Furthermore, Josh Okogie alongside Chimezie Metu will lead the D’tigers Challenge for a spot at the FIBA world cup.

Josh Okogie

Playing in the last game of Match Day 1, D’Tigers will start Window 4 today against Cote D’Ivoire.

The Ivorians are yet to drop a game since the FIBA World Cup Qualifiers began in November last year. 

Cote D’Ivoire leads Group E with 8 points, Cape Verde is on 7 points, while Angola and Nigeria have 6 points each.

Uganda has 5 points, and Guinea is bottom of the log with 4 points.

Challenging Preparations

It’s a known fact that Nigeria’s buildup is fraught with a host of issues

Firstly, the Nigerian government, through the Sports Ministry, are yet to release funds for the team.

This development forced the team to re-adjust its training program and plans for the fourth window.

Also, some players had just one training session with the team because of late arrivals.

The Elephants are heading to Window 4 of the African Qualifiers without two vital players: Matt Costello and Assemian Moulare.

Window 4 of the 2023 Africa FIBA World Cup Qualifiers tips off today in Abidjan, Cote D’Ivoire and Monastir, Tunisia.

Meanwhile, the coastal cocoa city of Abidjan is housing Group E, which includes host Cote D’Ivoire, Nigeria, Angola, Cape Verde, Uganda and Guinea.

 All 18 games will dunk off at the 3,500-capacity Palais Des Sports, Treichville, Abidjan, from Friday till Sunday, 28th August.


D’Tigers final list:

1. Uche Iroegbu

2. Michael Gbinije

3. Christopher Obekpa

4. Chimezie Metu

5. Josh Okogie

6. Keith Omoerah 

7. Amanze Egezeke

8. Benjamin Emelogu, 

9. Reuben Abuchi

10. Jordan Ogundiran

11. Godwin Omenaka 

12. Oguine Michael 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.